IWill Ali grrrrr

jiffy

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2001
Iwill board lets me down.

First board version 1.0 Dimms are bad.

Second version 1.2 everything was good till installing Net card, after formatting again I got it to work. Windows 2000 crashed, just like Win98se. What's so great about Win2k, O yeah, the memory management, I'll restart my computer thank you.

Let's move on to win98se, I must installed win98 a few dozen times, I think I now how to do that. Well, using the Iwill I've had a few problems from the start, also again installing the Net. After a few reboots, now I click on start and it doesn't do anything.

This is really to bad, because I wanted to send the rig out to my sister tomorrow. I been building for a few years, I'm not a pro, but put 6-7 to gather for myself, plus installed win dozen of times, and upgraded.

What do I do now? Well, there is another version of the Iwill1.2, maybe I'll get that. haha No, I think it's time to tare down my Koolance case and give my sister my KR7A board, load win98 and have this rig ready to go out tomorrow.

Thank you for allowing me to blow off some steam

AMD_Man

Splendid
Jul 3, 2001
Start with the basics. Check your CPU temp. Also, even Windows 2000 can get screwed up due to IRQ. I had a similar problem with Win2K + my Turtle Beach Santa Cruz + ATI TV Wonder + old nVidia GF2 MX-400. I managed to fix it by manually assigning IRQs. I also have a similar problem in Win98SE and WinMe due to an IRQ conflict. IRQ conflicts are very common on a fully loaded system, so I suggest you manually assign IRQ and check for shared/conflicting IRQs in System Information. Let the BIOS manage Plug and Play rather than the OS, if that's an option. Are you using separate sound or the onboard sound? If separate then make sure the onboard sound is disabled. What network card are you using anyway? I've fried two or three ABit KT7A using an old ISA card, so maybe you're using an old network card?