Motherboards

G

Hi all,

I need someone who has a real savvy with the workings of motherboards. I am a novice in this area and I have encountered a problem that I can not solve, not for want of trying.

I am using a Giga-byte motherboard (GA-6OXM7E)with an Intel 815E AGPset, this motherboard has the latest BIOS upgrade and drivers from Giga-byte. The processor I am using is an Intel Pentium Celeron 900MHz. I have two problems with which I would like some help. Firstly, I have a 3.5" floppy drive that does not want to be recognised by the motherboard. I have change the cable around and this has made no difference. The configuration shows it as being present, but every time the computer goes to use it or I point to it the machine either asks me to check to see if a diskette is inserted or the device is not recognised. During power-up the device is not found and the machine waits for the F1 key to be depressed.

My next problem relates to RAM. I have a 512Mb SDRAM stick and despite changing the DIMM slots it sits in (there are four - three double sided and one single sided) it will only use half the memory. 262Mb.

If there is anyone out there in the forum that has some constructive ideas please, please assist me as this is driving me to distraction.

jlanka

Splendid
Mar 16, 2001
Floppy - have you tried a different drive?

RAM - when do you see only 256? On POST or in the OS? If OS, which OS are you using?

<i>It's always the one thing you never suspected.</i>

G

Hi there,

Thanks for your reply. I have tried another floppy drive and the same thing happens. With the RAM the 256 occurs on both the post and in the OS. I am currently using Windows 98SE, but plan on going to Windows ME when I get all the bugs sorted out.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff