DFenn

Distinguished
May 7, 2003
:?: Just wanted to get an idea of everybody else's thoughts on this but does anybody else think that the hardware and gaming industry is moving way too fast for the average gamer to keep up?

I have been playing games of one sort or another for about many years (we are talking about the days of 'The Hobbit' on my ZX Specturm) and technology has always moved at a swift pace but things seem to have gone mad recently. Game designers seem to be striving to achieve as much realism as possible in their games, making use of the latest graphics and cpu architecture available, whilst I think this is a nobel goal if feel that the average gamer cannot keep up. I would consider myself an average gamer and there is no way I can afford a system with 2Gb of ram or a £400 top of the range graphics card paired with a high end cpu.

I think that whenever benchamrks are run or games are reviewed there should be a section dedicated on 'this is how it runs on an average system' as well as the normal 'this is how is performs on our top end testbed system'.

Ranting over, let me know your thoughts.....

Wolfy

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2003
I would consider myself an average gamer and there is no way I can afford a system with 2Gb of ram or a £400 top of the range graphics card paired with a high end cpu.

Buy a console then.

I think that whenever benchamrks are run or games are reviewed there should be a section dedicated on 'this is how it runs on an average system' as well as the normal 'this is how is performs on our top end testbed system'.

They do this. Buy PCZONE.

DFenn

Distinguished
May 7, 2003
Had a PS1, it was crap, bought a PS2, it was crap, can't afford a PSP or an XBox360 (yet :D ).