HonestJhon

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2001
my dads computer has this motherboard...
i KNOW it is asus, but i cant find it on their site, and the only sites i can find about it are in russian.
but this computer is a HP 6545C, with a celeron 500.
but i am thinking about upgrading it for him...and MIGHT be able to get a p3 to put in there.
i have seen some places that say it can take a p3 800e.
someplace else said it could take a 1133mhz p3
I AM CONFUSED.
and i would also like to know if i would have any probs running xp on this thing, because hps site has a warning on it...about running xp on it.
i mean, i know it would be better to swap out everything on my dads comp and start fresh, but i am a college student, and therefore have a lack of cash at the moment...
so if i could get a p3 for this thing, it would rock.

-DAvid

-Live, Learn, then build your own computer!-

jlanka

Splendid
Mar 16, 2001
I think you're limited by the multipler. I think the fastest it goes is 5x? Not totally sure. Thats a Slot 1 right? If so, you could get a slotket which has higher multiplier's on it.

AFA XP, I think the only problem was with the AMR modem? And supposedly you can use the 2K drivers if it's still not supported under XP.

<i>It's always the one thing you never suspected.</i>

HonestJhon

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2001
well, thing is, this thing is a socket 370...
and i think that the multiplier in the bios goes up past 5x.
and there is a jumper on the board that lets it run at 100mhz fsb.
but anyways, isnt the multiplier set by the cpu in this case?
i have tried changing the multiplier on this thing, but it doesnt work...and i am pretty sure that intel locked them.

-DAvid

HonestJhon

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2001
well, thing is, this thing is a socket 370...
and i think that the multiplier in the bios goes up past 5x.
and there is a jumper on the board that lets it run at 100mhz fsb.
but anyways, isnt the multiplier set by the cpu in this case?