Total newb (XP Addicted Loser)

justaguy

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2001
I feel a little bored with my current stuff and want to try to learn a little about Linux. The only thing holding me back is that I don't want to be without any games. I don't play a lot of things, but C&C and some others are must haves. I could always go dual-boot, but that doesn't seem that appealing to me. I have read about WINE a little, but admittedly not too much. Could somebody tell me if it is possible to run Win games through WINE and get any sort of reasonable results?

Also, I am thinking that Mandrake or Fedora is the best distro for me to get the "real" Linux experience without feeling like a complete moron who can no longer open his email. I know that there is ample information out there on this topic, but what do you guys think?

One specific question-will WINE run Microsoft Money 2003? That is a must for me.
Thnx for the help

Athlon XP 1900 (11x200) 42C (Load w/AX-7 & 8cm Tornado) - MSI K7N2 Delta - Corsair Value PC3200 - Gainward GF3 @ 250/550 - 80Gb WD 8Mb Cache -

Rob423

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2002
he man im in teh same boat as you. I am like a XP nerd i know almost everything with this os and i want to get into linux heavily. From what i know KDE has some really good office type apps, and maybe it has something exactly like money2003 but not called that exactly.

Asus A7N8X Deluxe
80gb Maxtor
200gb WD 8mb cache..
Lian-Li PC-60
LiteOn 52X/LiteOn 811s DVD-RW
AMD XP2800+
LeadTek GF4Ti4200 128mb
Hitachi CML174
1GB Corsair XMS PC3200

justaguy

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2001