K7SEM overheating? Help!

G

I recently purchased a barebones system to replace my ancient Pentium 133, but since budget was a concern, i went for the cheap options and as it turns out, that was a bad choice.

I got a K7SEM, AMD Th 1.13 Ghz w/Cooler Master Coppermine Cooling fan, 256 Mb of Micron pc133 SDRAM, a 2 inch Cooler Master Case Fan and a Mid Tower with 300 W power supply. This was the basic system that I bought already assembled, to which I added SoundBlaster Live!, a Maxtor 40G 7200 HDD and a Teac CDW54E. Definitely not a dream configuration but I thought it would serve my needs.

Now it seems like the system has temperature problems. It freezes every ten minutes or so, so I run Sandra diagnostics and it came out with a temperature warning. The mobo heats up to 65º and CPU up to 60º (the Bios reports lower results, but still over the 50º range). I am no engineer but I am assuming that either the fans are not doing their job properly or the mobo just can´t handle the cpu because it´s 266Mhz. Sandra did report a FSB problem. I was wondering is somebody can lend a hand helping configure the system for stable performance. Should I replace the fans? I already changed the case fan position to suck fresh air into the case instead of exhausting, because the power supply is exhausting itself, but it doesn´t seem to make any difference at all. Should I just switch to a different mobo altogether? Is there any chance any of the parts is defective?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

tilepusher

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2001
Hey S,