Keleneki

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2001
I have a Epox 8KHA+ motherboard with a Athlon XP 1900 CPU and an MSI GeForce Ti 200 video card. When I go to the BIOS, I see that there is only AGP 1X and AGP 2X. There is no AGP 4X choice even though this motherboard is supposed to have that choice. I went to the Epox Web site and I see that in the BIOS section, they mention in one of the upgrades that, "Change AGP driving for AGP 4X in KT266A CE Version." This is for the 8khi1a17.exe version. Is this what is causing the problem for me not to have the AGP 4X choice? If this is the case, should I flash this version, or should I get the latest version?

I am a little uncomfortable about flashing BIOS because I have never done it before but the instructions seem fairly simple. I will give it a try after I receive some acknowledgement that this would be the correct thing for me to do.

I appreciate any feedback or assistance from the community at Tom's Hardware. You folks seem to know more about computers than any other Web site that I have ever visited.

Thank you in advance.

tilepusher

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2001
Hey K,

Did you install the Via 4 in 1 drivers after you installed your OS?

Don't flash your Bios yet, but if you do, it is supper easy.

Peace Out..............tile

Just waiting for the next "Big" thing like everyone else?

Keleneki

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2001
I think I installed the Via 4 in 1 drivers from the CD-ROM that came with my motherboard. I followed the instructions in the readme file in the folder. I had to click the button once (although I thought I would have to do it several times since it mentioned that there were several things that would be installed) and then it said to reboot.

I went ahead and flashed the BIOS to the latest version and I still only have 1X and 2X. This computer runs really smoothly but I was always under the impression that going at 4X would give me faster FPS for my gaming.

Any further suggestions would be greatly appreciated.