DOS Batch Script to Determine When ISP Changes my IP Address

heylarson

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2010
The thread title pretty much sums it up. I want to write a batch script for my Windows 7 machine that is scheduled to run every night.

The functionality of it is pretty straight forward. Read the IP address and compare it to the one saved in a temp file. If they are different, send out an email to alert me of the new change. Because I am behind a router, an ipconfig would not be suffice. However, I think that maybe a tracert or arp command might include the IP address of the router. I have some basic DOS knowledge, but this is a bit out of my range.

If anyone has ideas on writing this, let me know.

Solution
Nice work and thinking!

Here is the batch file version. :) It will collect the IP and check against the last known one and generate different outputs depending on a change has been done.

It will need the wget.exe utility, a free tool available here. Save to the same folder as the script.

@ECHO OFF

SET url=http://www.whatismyip.com/automation/n09230945.asp
SET out=out.txt
SET oldipfile=oldipfile.txt

IF NOT EXIST wget.exe ECHO wget.exe is missing. && GOTO :eof
IF NOT EXIST %oldipfile% ECHO 0.0.0.0 > %oldipfile%

wget.exe -q -O %out% %url%
FOR /f "tokens=1" %%a IN (%out%) DO SET ip=%%a

ECHO.
ECHO The IP address is %ip%.
ECHO Checking last known IP..
ECHO.

TYPE %oldipfile% | FIND /i "%ip%" > nul
IF "%ERRORLEVEL%"=="0" ECHO...
Are you trying to read the IP off of your router or the computer? I doubt you can run a script to get the WAN IP off the router, and the internal IP of your computer should not change. You can do a tracert from your computer to another site but it will only show you the gateway and then the DNS server. To see the WAN port of your rounter, you have to know the IP of it to begin with, which won't do you any good if that changes.