Sign in with
Your question

Windows XP Administrator

Last response: in Windows XP
March 31, 2004 12:33:06 AM

I hope this isn't a stupid question, but something I definetly have to find out. Everytime I install XP on a machine only one person uses the computer. XP makes you give a username during installation. I noticed in windows explorer that under C:\Documents and Settings there was:
\All users
\default users
\and my name I gave during installation here

Even though I am an administrator I found that it caused a problem one day when I tried to install a program. Is there a way not to make a user name in XP and just be "administrator"? Also what is the \default users directory?

Asus A7N8X Deluxe v2 -- AMD Athlon XP 2500 Barton Core -- 512 P2700 (duel channel) --
ATI Radeon 9500 -- SB Augidy 2 -- Antec Plus660 AMG 330W case -- XP Pro

More about : windows administrator

March 31, 2004 3:53:38 AM

you can delete the account. but that doesnt make a difference when your trying to install somthing. the default user is like a template for when you create a new user.

wpdclan.com cs game server - 64.246.52.144:27015
now featuring (optional) cheating death!
March 31, 2004 7:33:16 AM

If you didn't create an account in xp the first time, The default user name is administrator. The administrator name only shows when there are no other users,once you create one, then your name appears and you are the administrator as well. Try to delete all accounts and see if administrator name will run by default.
Related resources
March 31, 2004 10:47:41 AM