7VRXP With 1GB or 2 dimms??

comlink

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2002
I am a system builder and have built a few systems with the gigabyte GA-7VRXP, and although ive read many complaints about the board, I have yet to experience any problems with it locking up etc etc. I also run this board at my house. Im an avid Everquest player (20+ hours a week) and have yet to have a single lockup or other problem.

My question is this... I have tried to setup this board with 1GB memory in a few instances (all of them with samsung PC2700, 2 x 512). EVERY time I put both dimms into the board I get all kinds of errors... windows wont install, win2000/xp stop screens, fatal exceptions etc. But as soon as I take one of the dimms out, everything runs flawlessly. Ive tried using different slots, at one time even ordered about 10000000000 different pieces of memory, all with no go. the other configs have been different each time, used geforce 4 dual rgb out, geforce 2 mx 400, and even just a low end ati. Used the raid in some setups and not in others, but always the same problems.

The thing I havent done yet is try 2 pc 2100 dimms, or 1 1gb dimm, or 2 smaller sized pc 2700 dimms. Im wondering has anyone else encountered this?? If you have a vrxp and some extra ddr memory would you try it and let me know? Im using the latest bios BTW ( I think its up to f7 now.)

The board is the one with the metal clip for the CPU, ver 1.1.

One thing that concerned me is gigabytes remark in the manual that states "Because the quality of PC2700 module is varied, we don't recommend you to use 3pcs of PC2700 module at the same time." Is it possible there is an issue with multiple pieces of pc2700 memory on this board??

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Jason

HammerBot

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2002