Sign in with
Your question

Opinion on Soyo Mobo, Socket 478 w/Brookdale i845

Last response: in Motherboards
July 2, 2002 8:26:40 PM

Newbie here. I've searched the boards and cannot find any info on the Soyo SY-P4IS2 mobo with a P4, 1.8GHz processor. This is part of a "BareBone System & CPU" sold at Fry's Electronics. What I need to know is if it is a stable, user friendly board. I will use it primarily for internet surfing.....I'm not a gamer.

Thanks.

Barry
July 2, 2002 8:44:38 PM

Here's a review here:
http://www.baznet.freeserve.co.uk/SY-P4IS2-page1.htm

I would not get this! It uses SDRAM! Might as well just buy a pentium 3. I'm serious.

Look into the boards that have the 845E chipset and DDR.

look into the:
ABIT BD7II 845E
Samsung PC2700 memory or corsair PC2700 DDR memory
and the P4 1.8A ghz, make sure you get the one that has the "A" after the number.

<A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/mysystemrig.html?id=9933" target="_new"> My Rig </A>
a c 435 V Motherboard
July 2, 2002 10:58:16 PM

Save your money for the next sale. They run ads constantly. Their ddram memory is reasonably priced when on sale, but don't expect it to overclock. I found a pricey P4 2.26 and Soyo combo at my local Fry's recently, but fried the bios with a bad flash. The board was the Soyo P4s Dragon ultra with sis 645dx chipset. Very solid and stable, with agp lock for good overclocking. Look for a combo with sis 645, 645dx, or 845g when they arrive. The Intel 845g is the newest chipset, but don't know if Fry's carries it yet.
Related resources
July 2, 2002 11:35:06 PM