How to measure power utilization?

straius

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2002
Hello everyone,

I have been having strange unidentifiable hardware problems lately and before I go out and buy a bunch of expensive hardware I was wondering if someone could tell me how I can check the power usage in my computer.

Tyan Trinity 400
P3 667MHz
XFX GeForce4 Ti 4200
Sound Blaster Audigy
Delta Omni Studio (Pro Sound Card)
Adaptec SCSI Controller 19160
80Gig ATA100 Hard-Disk
20Gig ATA100 Hard-Disk
18Gig Ultra160 SCSI 10,000RPM Hard-Disk
Creative 56K Modem (Di5630-4)
ACER CD-RW 8x

All of that is on a 300W Power supply and I am worried that my problems might just be due to an inability to give enough power to all my components.

Does anyone know how I can find out if I need a larger Power Supply?

HammerBot

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2002
Unless you have a multimeter that can measure current, its not that easy. Im an electronics engineer and have that kind of equipment lying around and have measured the current consumption on my system once or twice. Anyway, from my point of view a 300W power supply should be enough. But you can check it easily yourself. Pull out some of the devices (e.g. all but your boot HD, the modem and soundcard) and see if your problem disappears.

Hoolio

Distinguished
Jun 26, 2002
you will find it hard to get a multimeter which can measure over 10A.

The supply leads provide about 25A max on the +5v lead. No multimeter can measure that. And my multimeter is one of the top range one, as it cost £300.

Unless you can find an industrial one.

Oh an electronics engineer what do you do?
(I am interested cos that is what I am doing at uni and I am not sure what I will do once I leave uni :p)

HammerBot

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2002