Sign in with
Your question

suggestions for the clueless

Last response: in Motherboards
August 11, 2002 7:14:53 PM

hi, im brand new to the boards here so this problem might seem a bit stupid.

im in the process of building a system for myself for college. this is the first time im actually building it myself with the help of a friend of mine (my present pc is a Dell). ive decided to go the route of a Pentium 4 2.26 Ghz. im trying to decide on a motherboard right now. i had originally decided to go with the Shuttle AS45GT (SiS648) but with the chance that wont be out before i leave for college i think i am going to go with the Gigabyte GA-8IGXP.

Now this is the part which i dont know anything about. The P4 talks about 533mhz FSB (?) and i dont think the GA-8IGXP has a 533mhz, will they still work together? if not, any recommendations for a feature-rich board, im not too worried about OC-ing yet as i have no experience with that. Is switching motherboards any easy process or a real pain in the ass, i wonder because i could use the Gigabyte board until Shuttle's AS45 comes out, or would that be a stupid move and i should just stick with the GA-8IGXP?

any and all help is greatly appreciated. apologies for any typos and/or confusing sentences.

More about : suggestions clueless

August 11, 2002 9:21:55 PM

Hi,
I'm not too familiar with the Shuttle board, but I can tell you that the Gigabyte GA-8IGXP DOES support the 533MHz front side bus. It looks like a great board with a great feature set, however, you may have the same problem finding one. So far, no one seems to be selling it. If you search through these postings for "ga-8igxp" you'll find a lot of people looking for this board without success. If you have any better luck, let us all know:) 

Kill a man, you're a murderer. Kill ten thousand, you're a statesman.
August 11, 2002 11:12:48 PM