Please help with game choice.

Lasombra

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2007
* I just noticed the sticky at the top of the strategy forum so I'm reposting this here*

I am looking to buy a couple of strategy games, and its been a long time since I've played one. I'm not very good at them so I don't know how much online play I'll be doing except with a friend or two. What I want most out of the picks are a nice single player game that will be fun. The games I have my eye on right now are:

Warhammer 40,000 Dawn of War: Gold Edition
Company of Heroes
Rome: Total War Gold Edition
Age of Empires 3

I'll be picking up 2 games so anyone who has experience, especially with the solo aspects of these games please help me decide. I'm pretty much sold on Dawn of War, because the game just seems incredible and is based on a great world. Any other suggestions would be great. Also regarding mods, are there mods that can be played in solo mode as well as online for these types of games?

yas

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2006
Company of heroes is a great game. just check the reviews.

Supreme Commander and teberium wars are probably better than the other ones youve listed

cafuddled

Distinguished
Mar 13, 2006
Total war all the fucking way, it will end your life. You will be so in to the game if you loose the main campaign you will end up throwing your self on a claymore in discuss at your own failings as a ruler to your empire. Oh Medieval 2 Total War will be a much better choice if you have a system to cope with it. Currently playing through a game as the good old Scots, I am invading France and the Spanish boarders… that’s after I crushed the English empire and severing the kings head from his body but not before killing all his children…

FREEDOM!!!