Sign in with
Your question

"Pretty" game recommendations for idiots like me

Last response: in Video Games
March 6, 2007 12:10:39 PM

Hey everyone,

This forum is new territory for me. You see, I have some nice hardware, the purchase of which was primarily motivated by a need for optimal performance of Flight Simulator X (I'm a real-world pilot.. who can't really afford to fly very often. Thus, I've resigned myself to a hardly-realistic simulation).

I can't help but feel that with my rig, I should be enjoying more entertainment. But I don't know where to start! Years of higher education and working to pay off expenses of said higher education has kept me out of the gaming world for awhile.

I'd like to get back in, but I approach modern games like I would developing J2EE portals. They're friggin' COMPLICATED!! Here's where I'm at: XBox and PS are too hard for me. Too many buttons! I simply don't have time to learn the intricacies of modern games.

Here's what I like: Doom 2: Just a couple buttons. Myst and Riven: Just a mouse involved, and lots of eye candy.

That's what I'd like to ask my fellow THG members: What sort of eye-candy games would you recommend to me that I can quickly ramp up and play? I'm interested in Doom 3, Quake, etc, but I'm sure they've increased in the number of buttons I have to learn. Screw that, I don't have time.

And what's everyone's obsession over "World of Warcraft?" All I know about that game is what I learned from that South Park episode, and they made it look pretty damn complicated.

SO... I lack both the dexterity and time to learn how to play most modern games. Any recommendations for games that don't involve gameplay that requires a college course -- but is high tech and justifies the purchase of my hardware?

Thank you all so much :) 
March 6, 2007 3:57:53 PM

Buy a Wii...