Is the Shuttle SS51G UP TO SCRATCH?

I'm a newbie, never built up a system from scratch, never installed anything else then a soundcard on my old computer, but I see my self as fairly capable of doing so.

Now, I'm going to build a system, not top of the line, but fairly top notch system. What I have been thinking of is the following:
* Via333 Chipset
* AMD XP2000+
* 512MB Crucial 2.5cl
* 80GB WD 8MB HDD
* 40x22xetc CD-RW

Bla, bla, bla... Fairly standard I guess.... BUT

I FELL IN LOVE WITH THE NEW SHUTTLE SS51G (externally) and I pondering getting this one instead of a huge Chieftech Dragon. BUT I haven't seen any user reports on this system, only sales talk and I'm a bit sceptical.

I'm no hardcore gamer (yet), I have a HUGE MP3 database, surf the net a lot etc.

* Would this system be up to scratch?
* What about upgradebility?
14 answers Last reply
More about shuttle ss51g scratch
  1. if you can wait a week or 2 I'll have mine in and let you know.

Leave a real <A HREF="http://forumz.tomshardware.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=faq" target="_new">link</A>
  2. I would be interested in hearing about your experience too! In particular if you are planning to install Linux on it.