mighty_moe

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2002
All,
I am a relative newbie to this level of work but...I recently tried to upgrade my old P-150 with a new motherboard cpu combo. Chaintech MB w/ 1.1 athalon processor. Perfect fit everything swapped out pretty easy.. BUT.. I get nothing nada - the fan spins but no video or boot. I sent it back and their tech said everything was good. I checked the power supply, different video boards etc. Nothing no beeps, Where do I start with diagnosing this??
Help.

More info is needed. Did you change your old power supply? A 300 watt is the recommended minimum for your new athlon. Also, what type and brand of memory are you using? Are you trying to re-use an old video card, or does the new board have onboard video?

deadkenny

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2002
Are you talking about 'upgrading' an old Pentium 150MHz system? Please post the particulars of case, p/s, video card, hdd etc. that you are taking from the old system. I would expect the old mobo to be AT and the new to be ATX for starters, although I guess there were some ATX socket 7 boards. Are we talking AGP video card? Could well be an old 3.3v AGP card trying to run on new 1.5v AGP slot.

That (upgrade) which does not destroy you(r system's stability), makes it stronger. Nietzche

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
OMG I am NOT helping another newb diagnose every single newb problem again! READ some post and make sure you haven't made the same mistakes as the other newbs in here, then get back to us.

<font color=blue>You're posting in a forum with class. It may be third class, but it's still class!</font color=blue>

mighty_moe

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2002
Crashman Said
"OMG I am NOT helping another newb diagnose every single newb problem again! READ some post and make sure you haven't made the same mistakes as the other newbs in here, then get back to us."