What do I do now? More Cooling? New Power Supply?

theDean

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2002
Hi Everyone!

I will openly admit that I'm by NO means an expert when it comes to upgrading and building PC's. I can put in a new graphics card, hard drive, network card and that kind of stuff but I've never tried building one from scratch before or changing motherboards which I'm now planning on doing.

I'm getting rid of the PCChips M801LR Motherboard that came with my machine and planning to go in favour of either a SoA VIA KT333 ATX A or an ASUS A7V333 KT333 (couldn't find anywhere doing an MSI one cheap) Other than that, I just want to recycle the other bits, Athlon 1800XP+, 256MB PC133, GeForce 4 MX 440, CD-RW, DVD-ROM, etc.

I already have a heat sink and fan with the chip and I'm planning to use the same case I have at the moment so there is already a power supply wired up in there. Do I need to change anything or can I hope that I can rip out the current motherboard and plug in the new one? What else will I need to do?

Any advice would really be appreciated.

Thanks!

theDean

letdown

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2002
How many watts is your current PSU? If everything's running stable and you're just switching the mobo, you should probably be okay. But if it's kinda lame to begin with, you might as well add a nice new one that'll last you at least 3 years.

Depends how much more stuff you want to put in the box in the not-too-distant future.

tombance

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2002
If possible you should try getting a DDR mobo. SDRAM is a real bottleneck for AXP and by getting DDR you would probably really improve your performance.

My sig's faster than yours, and it overclocks better too....

Oracle

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2002
You will have to drop the PC133 module(s) and it would also be a good idea to leave that GF4MX alone.
Make sure your PSU has a 300 watts power capacity.

<font color=red>Do ya feel lucky, Punk? Well...? Do ya?