Sign in with
Your question

newbie wants a new mobo fer AMD

Last response: in Motherboards
September 12, 2002 9:18:38 AM

Hello! I'm sure this is a regularly recurring post -- I tried to search for one like it to no avail, so here it is again :) 

I'm new to this mobo thing, but it looks like Asus, MSI, and Giga-byte are good (the best?) boards to go with. Now I'm learning that platform processors are important as well, and I think there's VIA, SiS, and nForce to name a few. I also see myself trying some overclocking.

So, I want to purchase a solid board with the future in mind. I don't mind spending the extra cash for a good mobo.

So, what should I get? And should I wait? We can keep waiting, right, cuz they'll continue to put the best stuff out while we wait. When do I hop on the bandwaggon is the problem. :) 

Thanks so much for your help!
-phil

P.s. when does the nforce2 come out?

More about : newbie mobo fer amd

September 12, 2002 11:47:32 AM

Hey P,

I know you want this mobo right now..........but when do you NEED this mobo by?

What will you be using this OC'ed mobo for? What features do you need on-board?

My take on your question is this: Wait until the end of the year. In this time the Claw-Hammers & Bartons will be out. From there sort out your needs vs the cost vs performance. It my be you only need a KT266A mobo or a better video card & not a cpu/mobo upgrade.......... or you may feel you need a P4 with the newest flavor of the month chipset/mobo, if money is not a issue.