Does anyone else think HDR is insanely overrated?

jbrownos

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2006
I'm wondering if I'm the only one that thinks HDR effects in most games look pretty terrible. I've played about half a dozen games to date with HDR (on two different cards that support it). Honestly I've ended up turning it off almost every time. It always seems to make everything look very "plastic" and over-exposed.

I started playing Bioshock recently and couldn't help but notice the exact same problem with the HDR effects in it. The game looks much better to me with it turned off. I'm just wondering if there is something I'm missing here? I'm sure the technology has potential, as I remember playing a game that had an "HDR level" slider. With it on about 1/3 - 1/4 the normal setting, it looked a little better than having no HDR. But as it stands it seems like HDR needs a lot of work to be worthwhile.

cafuddled

Distinguished
Mar 13, 2006
As already said it does make Oblivion look much better, I also found it to do a bit of good in Half Life 2 when they released the update, though I do turn it off when playing Counter Strike. Mind you if it is not used properly the effect does to more harm than good, so it’s all on the developer to do a good job of incorporating it.

miribus

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2006
When implemented it's fantastic and adds a great sense of depth..
see Motorstorm.
When implemented poorly it just bogs down the system and makes a distracting muddling of the image.

holy_cow

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2007
yep, it will be better to have the slide setting to select "less HDR"

For me, most of games that use HDR exaggerate it a bit and all seems way too shiny or overexposed.

Fine tuning FTW!

GSTe

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2006
I think its cack. Even in Oblivion it just made things look uglier in my opinion, and as someone else has said, puts unneccessary strain on the system.

nevasumma

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2007