Anyone have any games suggestions?

Toolman55

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2007
Hello,

This will sound pretty lame, but.......

I really want to try out a pc game. But since I have no experience with anything beyond the simple on-line games, I was hoping you folks could make a few recommendatiions.

I'm interested in a first shooter type game (I did play the original Doom sometime ago--and even Return to Castle Wolfenstein).

I don't have a joystick, and would prefer to use the mouse/keyboard combo.

I saw a review about Bioshock, and it looked good. But I truly have no idea.

I recently built myself a new computer. Here are the specs:

E6600 CPU
Evga 8800 GTS 640 mb vid card
Corsair XMS2 2gb DDR2 800 ram
150 gb Raptor HDD
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 mobo
Xion 600w PSU

I woulld truly appreciate your input on what to try.

Thanks,
Don

BomberBill

Splendid
Jan 20, 2005
Hello Don.

Unreal Tournament 2004 EC edition is worth if for online slaughtering. A little old now though.

Far Cry for sure. If you've not played that then it's worth it, if only for the single player campaign.

BigMac

Splendid
Nov 25, 2003
Maybe he'd like to try something more.... recent, mate? :eek:

If you're just entering the gaming arena, Don, I'd recommend trying something out from ValvE through Steam. Their online catalog is quite extensive, and you can find some pretty main stream stuf there as well as serious FPS's (as well as strategy games, adventures, etc) and I'm sure you'll love their online delivery system. All it takes, is a credit card, and a reasonable internet bandwidth. You can download the game and play instantly.

Bioshock is available through Steam as well, but you may want to read some of the threads here about the DRM policy involved. Prey (also in the Steam catalog) might give you a nice bridging between the original doom experience and how shooters have since moved then.