DETOX!: The Lifestyle Addicts of WoW.

BomberBill

Splendid
Jan 20, 2005
Some time ago, Rob Wright and Toms produced an interesting and insightful article on WoW addiction with an expert claiming that 40% of players fit the text book definition of being described as clinically addicted to the game.

In that http://www.twitchguru.com/2006/08/08/world_of_warcraft_players_addicted/, and in the following thread discussion http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/96296-13-expert-percent-world-warcraft-players-addicted, many individuals were skeptical of the expert's findings, with some being very vociferous in their distaste for so-called experts coming in and making these wild speculations.

I've been playing the game for 3 months and I would average, at most, 2-3 hours of game time each day. Instead of watching tv -- most people's R&R -- I play WoW or some other game instead.

Out of interest, I decided to delve a little further into the WoW addiction problem after I stumbled across a fellow player who told me categorically that he put in at least 8-10 hours of WoW time each and every day -- bar none! His girlfriend had left him; he'd lost his good job only to secure a low-paying one in its stead; he'd put on around 50lbs of weight; he'd lost friends; his family were terribly unhappy with him, etc.. And here he was talking to me -- a part-timer, at best -- about his addiction to the game and the wonderful 4 level 70s that he has and the chasing of the "epic drops" whilst raiding (terminology that is all foreign to me until last night). His only saving grace, he said, was that he had not been married and that he'd not had any kids. He told me of players who'd lost marriages, jobs, family homes and their kids to the lifestyle that goes with this game for some -- extreme cases, I know, and easy to be skeptical of...at first, anyway.