PC games that SHOULD have been ported to console

Ananan

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2007
Freelancer is a game I've always been sorry that I missed and I was ecstatic to find it on a bargain rack about two weeks ago.

And I'm happy I did; I've put all of my other gaming projects on hold and logged quite a few fun hours. I like finding older gems.

While I was playing it a thought came to me: Why wasn't this game ever ported to a console? Freelancer is a very satisfying PC experience but seems perefctly suited to the console world.

The graphics are still great today, but didn't even need a top notch GPU to look good in the early 2000s. The controls are not overly complex; you could comfortably play all aspects of this game easily with a gamepad.

I'm no tech expert but I don't see any obvious technological barriers for a PS2 or an Xbox. This game could possibly have been a sensation if someone had managed to release it for either platform.

So that got me thinking: What other PC-only games should have been ported to consoles?

itotallybelieveyou

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2007
out of the like 2 PC-exclusives that exist? Crysis should be definitely ported with even if they have to make it slightly less impressive graphics. Counter Strike: Source. Nothing else really.

spoonboy

Distinguished
Oct 31, 2007

Oh darling! its simply terrible, oh the pain! the pain! (melodrama).

:lol:

The original farcry should have been, in original form as much as possible, not the farcry instincts rubbish. um...Warcraft 3 & frozen throne might have been quite nice, on xbox live.

Ananan

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2007
Hmmm... Warcraft 3 on Xbox. Interesting.

After playing some more Freelancer I'm beginning to think that this game would be a console sensation if it were released even today (6 years after it's PC release).

All you'd really have to do is update some of the textures. IMO It would instantly rank as one of the greatest console games you could buy.

stemnin

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2006