Sign in with
Your question

HDD Reformat question

Last response: in Windows 7
August 19, 2010 4:55:52 AM

I have been planning to install a new HDD in my rig and then upgrade my Windows XP with Windows 7 Home upgrade. I have Windows 7 upgrade for Windows Vista. I recognize that I would have to do a clean install, but I had intended to partition the drive to two partitions, one of them being about 50 GB for the OS. I have the Windows XP and legal product key. Now I read in a forum that I can't do that, and must use the Windows 7 full license edition.
I have everything backup and the new drive, but I am not technically knowledgeable enough to do a double-install or registry patch and even if I could I don't think that I will end up with what I want as far as the portioning goes. I hope that I have explained my problem sufficiently and I would appreciate someone helping me out with this.

More about : hdd reformat question

a b $ Windows 7
August 19, 2010 6:47:41 AM

Oldog said:
I have been planning to install a new HDD in my rig and then upgrade my Windows XP with Windows 7 Home upgrade. I have Windows 7 upgrade for Windows Vista. I recognize that I would have to do a clean install, but I had intended to partition the drive to two partitions, one of them being about 50 GB for the OS. I have the Windows XP and legal product key. Now I read in a forum that I can't do that, and must use the Windows 7 full license edition.
I have everything backup and the new drive, but I am not technically knowledgeable enough to do a double-install or registry patch and even if I could I don't think that I will end up with what I want as far as the portioning goes. I hope that I have explained my problem sufficiently and I would appreciate someone helping me out with this.