K7S5A Upgrade Questions....

Lordstyle

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2002
Okay, I'm still learning about Motherboards and CPU's. I built my own computer for the first time, and so far so good.

I'm running a K7S5A Mainboard, AMD Athalon XP 1600+, 256 DDR, Geforce 2 200 MX Video, Soundblaster PCI 512.

Anyway, I have a Volcano Heat Sync Fan, and a fan attached to my case cover as well. Very nicely cooled inside that thing even in the summer time.

Now, I got all of this around April or so of 2002. So far as I understand, the Motherboard can support up to an Athalon XP 2000+.

My question is, can I put a 2100 in and if so, what would I need to do as far as telling the bios and maybe getting a better CPU Fan to make it run a 2100?

Thanks in advance. I'd rather not have to buy a new Mainboard at this time. I'm on a very limited budget.

P.S. Or should I just not push it and only go with the Recomended of a 2000 as the manual says.

Tilepusher2

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2002
Yo L,

If you are in fact on a limited budget, I would not upgrade your cpu at all. You do not mention what you are using this system for & even if you did the time you would save by upgrading your processor to any faster one would not make much of a difference(you are looking at mere seconds & fractions of seconds faster than your XP 1600+).

If you want better gaming or video performance, now you are talking! Get a better video card. I would get a GeForce3 Ti200 128mb, the Ati Radeon 8500 might be a better budget video card, but nVidia drivers just kick sooo much major butt............yeah, sometimes they don't work, but most of the time, you get a 20% gain in benchmarks.

Again, my take is do not get a new cpu. If you are running Windows XP get a 512mb stick of DDR(good quality CAS 2.0), if you are running win 98(se or me), get another 256mb. If you need a better gaming rig, get a better video card.

Peace Out..............tile2

Why do you want to believe me?

Spitfire_x86

Splendid
Jun 26, 2002