Sign in with
Your question

Linux Programming

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
June 5, 2004 8:39:12 AM

This is going to turn out to be a really easy question...If I wanted to program in linux
(adjust stuff, create apps), what language should I learn? C? Forgive my stupidity, I'm new to programming.

"This means that you can play over a network, just not with each other."-PC GAMER review

More about : linux programming

June 6, 2004 10:04:43 AM

Depends on what you want to do. For serious programming, C/C++ would be the way to go. Most of the stuff is written in C or C++. There are lot of scripting facilities, with TCL/TK, Perl, Python.

This site isn't probably the right place to get the most definitive answer to your question though. Try one of the linux forums.

<b><font color=red>"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."</font color=red><font color=blue> - Benjamin Franklin</font color=blue></b>
June 8, 2004 1:44:02 PM

It's not as easy as you may think :) 
There are many languages that are popular in Linux, but choosing which one to use depends on what you want to do and personal preference. C/C++ is good for app development and such, Perl is good for scripting etc. My personal preference is Python since it's very easy and I do some scripting, and it is also a very good beginning language that you can integrate with C later on. Perl, IMHO as a non-programmer is too hard to read for easy troubleshooting. I do some C and Java, but find that Python serves my needs well and mostly use that.

---
My new years resolution is 1280 x 1024
Related resources
June 8, 2004 11:03:13 PM

What is scripting? Thanks for the replies...

"This means that you can play over a network, just not with each other."-PC GAMER review
June 9, 2004 5:52:11 PM

Assuming you're more familiar with windows...