Tweaking advice?

scaldwell28

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2008
Pardon me, but I am a complete novice in regards to hardware.

I recently decided to try out a new MMO when some friends were trying to get me into Age of Conan. Checking out the system requirements, I realized that my out-of-the-box Gateway GT5224 Media Center would require some upgrading to make the game playable. This system played World of Warcraft fine for the past 2+ years.

Here were the original specs:

Intel Pentium D 915 (Dual Core) 2.8G/core
1024 MB 533 MHz (PC4200) DDR2 memory
Integrated Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950

So I did the whole system requirements lab thing, and upgraded a bit, to 3gb RAM and Gigabyte GeForce 8800GT 512mb factory overclocked at 700mhz. Everything installed fine, downloaded the latest drivers from Nvidia, and I'm all set.

This game loads and runs all right, I'm getting between 18-30 fps at most times; playable, but not particualrly smooth. Yet I am reading and hearing from some people who are able to get 50-60fps whose specs seem very similar to my own. Is there anybody out there who can toss some advice my way as far as tweaks to get the most out of this hardware?

As a side note, I am getting no power errors now (unlike when I first installed the GPU and forgot to plug it in, yes I'm that much of a newb) but I felt I should disclose that I did NOT upgrade from my stock 300w PSU, just in case that this could be part of my problem.

spuddyt

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2007
I'm willing to bet that power supply is insufficient (i'm not certain, but would place a large sum of money) also, that CPU isn't exactly stellar, so don't expect to compare results with ppl who have e8400's @ 4.0 ghz....

scaldwell28

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2008