Sign in with
Your question
Closed

pc controller as qwerty with mouse possible???

Last response: in Video Games
June 13, 2008 11:05:03 AM

Hi there =)
ok, in short > Is it possible to configure a computer for pc gaming using a pc controller/pad for movement and such, and STILL have mouse input??

I am relatively new to the world of pc gaming (i have grown up on console games, thus controllers) and i cannot stand how uncompfertable "qwerty" configuration is on my L hand. So can i map movement controls to an analog thumb stick i would be holding in my left hand, whilst retaining mouse to look/aim/shoot/and i suppose jump, with my right? I dont have my new computer yet, or a controller, but i REALLY would like to know first if this is even possible, or if anyone uses such a config? i googled the crap out of this question , so as to not waste anyones time unnecessarily, with no luck - so pleeeeease, somebody, ANYBODY, could you please shed some light for me on this? Or even an alternative ( joystick in left, mouse with right for example) ..anything!! i just want to play fps's and not have to use the damn keyboard!!

Eddy
June 13, 2008 12:32:46 PM

it would generally be down to the game, a gamepad analogue stick would usually detect as a joystick with 2 axis. You would need to configure this axis for forward/backwards, left and right. I know saitek stuff comes with mapping software which allows you to map keystrokes.
June 13, 2008 12:49:47 PM

thankyou gow87 - i am looking into it now and i have heard of saitek before ... so you figure it comes down to the actual game? hmmm i thought that could be the case ... well, the first game i am wanting to play will be counterstrike source.. would anybody out there be willing to check if this control setup would work, providing they have the game/and possibly a pad? i would really appreciate this very very much =)
Related resources
June 13, 2008 12:56:04 PM