A Tough Decision

Pine Coned

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2008
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here, so if I seem ignorant on something already discussed here, thats probably why, also I wasn't really sure where to post this, but since this problem only came about because of gaming, I figured this would be a good a place as any to post it. Here is my situation.

This summer I decided to pick up Age of Conan and give it a try. So far I like it, its definitely has some software and balance issues, but its got potential. My problem is I can only run it with everything turned low, and pulling back to 1400 x 1050. Now in all honesty, I can deal with this, this is fine it still runs smooth even if its a bit fugly, but this does present a problem. Sure my current computer can handle coan, if a bit on the barely side, but what about pc games on the fall and winter line up? This brings me to the conundrum of getting a new computer system, a tricky and costly choice.

My current Computer is an HP Pavilion dv9500 NoteBook. Its current specs are:
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T7300
Memory: 2.00GB
OPS:Windows Vista 32-bit
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS

I know, these are just the basic specs, there is probably more, but this does show the main problem. Now besides conan I can pretty much handle anything else I do on this machine at full. Now I am not a huge fps fan, I don't play crisis or CoD4 so this wasn't a problem back in the winter/spring, but I am a fan of good rts, rpgs, mech games, and mmorpgs. I don't have to have the best machine out there 100% of the time as long as it still runs good. I am now kicking myself for not getting the 2.4 GHz when I had the chance and am now up creek without a paddle.