Getting new Monitor 24'

Lazdaa

Honorable
Apr 21, 2012
Hey Guys! I'm looking for a new monitor.

I got a Samsung SyncMaster 226BW which is working just fine. But I'm looking for a new main display with a higher resolution and just a bit bigger. So I'm still going to use the old monitor.

So I've been lurking around the market lately, and there are a couple of things i had in mind.

Brand: Prefer Samsung, open to others
Resolution: 1920x1050 vs 1920x1200 Thoughts?
Usage: Gaming primarily - FPS, RTS, MOBA
Size: 24 inches

What i've been looking at mostly:

Dell Ultrasharp
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dell-Ultrasharp-U2412M-Widescreen-Monitor/dp/B005LNDPPS/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1359905762&sr=8-4

BenQ XL2420T
http://www.amazon.co.uk/BENQ-XL2420T-monitor-inches-above/dp/B00ABJR274/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1359905762&sr=8-8

But i most say they are a bit pricey, and I'm not sure what resolution to get and Hz etc. etc. etc.
I'm most likely not going to use the 3D, and I'm not competitive.

So i hope some of you can help me shred some light on this, I'm open to suggestions!

Also i won't be buying from Amazon so discounts doesn't matter.

Regards Lazdaa

Knicks2012

Honorable
Dec 13, 2012
go with benq or the new asus 144 hz monitor that is around 280. i was considering the similar models and i went with 144 hz 1ms response asus since its better for gaming, dell is better for photography

Lazdaa

Honorable
Apr 21, 2012
Okeh.

My biggest concern right now is whether to get a TN or IPS panel, since i only got an overclocked 7850, i'm not sure i will get the full power of a 120Hz/144Hz monitor without upgrading.

Knicks2012

Honorable
Dec 13, 2012

depends on the game and graphic settings, i have a 7950. without overclocking i average 55-75 fps on ultra in bf3.

eyeage

Honorable
Apr 11, 2012