Dell dimension 2400 not starting

hemp

Honorable
Mar 11, 2013
Geek Squad said I have a virus ($200 to remove) in my Dell Dim 2400. Not worth fixing-- bought a new HP. Brought it home and tried to start the Dell for kicks but I never got it to boot to windows. The screen said keyboard failure but I continued to try. Now the on/off switch only works to shut it down. When I plug it back in I can hear all the fans and HD running. When I shut it down the green light on the MB stays lit for 15 seconds or so. I have replaced the battery and tried the jumper fix (jp2 to jp1 and back). As a complete novice and retired I would like the challenge to get it running to remove the virus and have a back-up computer. Thoughts and advice are appreciated.

hemp

Honorable
Mar 11, 2013
At times I have 4 green lights other times a and c are lit.. The key board has no lights (cap lock, etc) and mouse has no response. The on/off switch is not working at all now-- using power cord to turn machine on and off. Can hear HD running as well as both fans.

hemp

Honorable
Mar 11, 2013
The Dell is a Dimension 2400 with a Intel Celeron Processor @2.4GHz-- 80GB ATA Hard Drive. Windows XP. The computer worked fine (including on/off control) until the virus attack. I was attempting to restore the computer and the keyboard operated partially (F keys, enter, cap lock were ok but numbers and letters did not work) Now the keyboard is dead -nothing. The monitor also stopped working-- maybe due to the fact the keyboard is dead to give commands? The diagnostic lights are erratic as far as colors - sometime green and sometime amber. I never heard any diagnostic beeps at all.

hemp

Honorable
Mar 11, 2013
This morning there are green lights @ a&c -- b&d are out. Dell manual shows nothing for this pattern.

hemp

Honorable
Mar 11, 2013