AMD 965BE Safe Temps?

Cthomps

Honorable
Sep 29, 2012
Hello I am currently running Prime95 and according to Hardware Monitor and Core temp I have hit 62C as max I have been hovering at 60C. Now my question is is this bad since I used the CPU level up to 3.9 and stable.

My Rig
MOBO Asus M5A87
Phenom II x4 965BE
Rocketfish Universal CPU Cooler/ Cooler master TX3
MSI GTX660 TF
Antec BP550
WD 500GB Green

I am kinda new to OC but am open to suggestions with how to OC and my main concern is temps being safe thanks

the recomended max temp for that cpu is 62'c although i have seen some running hotter than that. the cooler you have isnt particularly good so you do want to drop your temps by 5'c or so by either droping the volts if you can or if your not stable with less than drop the clocks also.
then get a higher cfm fan such as the pressure optimized noctua nff12. or get a better cooler all together.
seriously if your wanting to run an overclock dont scrimp on cooling. yes you can get good cheap coolers but you can also get some very poor cheap coolers, and yours is no better than the stock cooler you removed.

clutchc

Titan
Ambassador
That seems a bit high even for that cooler. Is your case well ventilated? It may be the heat isn't being removed from the case fast enough. What kind of thermal paste are you using and what method of application? I used to have a 965BE with the CM TX3 cooler. I had it blowing upward and the top of the case had a 120mm vent fan. The top fan was so close to the cooler, it acted like a push-pull. At the 3.8GHZ I kept it running at, my temps were well below the 62C max.

By turning off C&Q, the fan won't have to wait for the temp to raise before increasing speed. So yes, you may want to do that when using the CPU at its max. For everyday use, leave it on.

Cthomps

Honorable
Sep 29, 2012