Video Editing system

Lionstarr

Honorable
Mar 11, 2013
Hello, I am a recent film graduate. I am beginning my career as an editor and seeking advice on building a great workstation!

Approximate Purchase Date: Two / three weeks

Budget Range: $2,500- $3,000.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: I will be running Avid Media Composer 6, Adobe After effects CS6, Adobe Photoshop CS6, ProTools 10, All Microsoft Office Applications.

Parts Not Required: Mouse, Keyboard or Speakers.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: recommendations would be great!

Parts Preferences:

System Software - Windows 8

Processor- Intel Core i7 Quad Core.

Memory- 16 GB

Graphics Card- NVIDIA, Quadro Based Graphic Card.

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: Later on in my career, not now.

Monitor Resolution: 1080p

Boxasauras

Honorable
Jan 21, 2013
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

Sorry for the delayed response. The best sites to buy from are Newegg, by far, and Amazon. If you want to go to a bricks and mortar place, go to Frys or Microcenter, depending on where you are.

Probably one of the best i7s out there. Since you still have a bit of money left over, you can go for the 3930k, a hexcore. Just as a side note, the price at microcenter is in store only. It'll be about $100 more at Newegg.
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($229.99 @ Microcenter)

Good budget cooler, even more so since you won't be overclocking, but if you decide to in the future, this gives you the option.
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.99 @ NCIX US)

This has lots of USB ports and sata ports.
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($134.99 @ Amazon)

16Gb is plenty for anything.
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($109.99 @ Newegg)

Use this SSD as a boot drive and for your applications to make your computer faster.