URGENT: Is my GTX 670 defected ?

shiinko

Honorable
Mar 12, 2013
Hello !
I've got my custom built PC about 9 months ago and just recently I've ran into a serious problem.
I was playing non-graphic intensive game when suddenly my PC crashed and I got that looping sound. I've restarted PC and suddenly I just couldn't boot. Right after Windows 7 logo I've got BSOD with this message:
"Attempt to reset the display driver and recover from timeout failed."
At the bottom there was also "nvlddmkm.sys".

I've been running perfectly fine for 8-9 months and now this happened for no reason.

I could boot into safe mode because drivers weren't loaded- If I reinstall windows and install Nvidia drivers again, same error occours.
Whatever the interface is (BIOS settings, Windows installation, Ubuntu LIVE CD etc ...) I always suffer from "no colors", basically fully washed out, random stripes horizontally across the screen across solid images and backgrounds. I can't get rid of it, so it's not a driver problem.

I am going to upload a few pictures of how things look.

This is my setup:
CPU: Intel i7 3770k (Not overclocked for now)
GPU: Corsair 750W PSU (Power is not the problem)
GPU: Asus GTX 670 2GB
RAM: 16 GB of Corsair low profile RAM (Can't remember exact model from top of my head)
MOBO: Asus P8Z77-V

Thank you in advance,
Cheers.

shiinko

Honorable
Mar 12, 2013
This is one of the examples of my problem:
http://oi46.tinypic.com/5zh3rs.jpg

I just spoke to Asus live support, the guy on the other end said that it is a hardware fault. Before contacting and sending back my card to the shop, can anyone confirm that ?

Also, do you think there's any chance the result would be my fault ? Note that card was well in range of safe temperature when it happened (Monitored by PrecisionX).

TheLittleKitten

Honorable
Mar 12, 2013
I'm not really that clever at software, rather than hardware, but from the crashed driver, i'll guess some kind of incompatability or a bug?

shiinko

Honorable