Trying to set up home network

2quik

Honorable
Dec 6, 2012
I am trying to set up my home network so that everyone can access to our movies on the server pc. I recently built a server/pc for this purpose. I am having trouble figuring out how to set up my router, switch and pc. I currently have a Actiontec Electronics GT784WN-01 Wireless N ADSL Modem Router runs fine and i purchased a TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Unmanaged Gigabit Desktop Switch. I currently installed cat6 wire to each location i want to have access to. I have 4 blu-ray players and one tv that i would like to network to my pc, but all have internet for netflex. I don't now to to connect them to each other.

Do i connect the router #1 port to the Switch #1 port, then which port do i connect the pc? does each cat6 cable need to be connected to just the switch?

Sorry if this seems like a no brainier but i am new to networking.
I am doing this for my kids so they can watch their movies in there rooms. so i would really, REALLY appreciate any help. I like drawn diagrams if possible.

G

Are they all on the same operating system? As long as all the computer are the same subnet, setup should be very easy. If all your computers are running Windows 7/8 you can either create a Homegroup or map a network drive and share files that way.

2quik

Honorable
Dec 6, 2012
Thank you to both of you for replaying.

I currently have it set up with windows 7 home network through wifi with my Actiontec Electronics GT784WN-01 Wireless N ADSL Modem Router and of course its not the best way to stream movie to 4 TVs. So i decided to go with wiring my house with cat 6 cable.

My new build has the ASRock H77M LGA 1155 Intel H77 HDMI which has a gigabit lan port. From what i have read it seems people suggested i get a another PCI network card http:// for networking. So the extra PCI card will take the load of the Motherboard.

My desktop will use the ASRock H77M LGA 1155 Intel H77 gigabite lan port for internet purpose.