COOLER MASTER cpu fan died. Questions and Solutions

gurzy

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2011
So I've been using my first custom built pc for about 3 months now. The CPU cooler brand I use is COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO. After 3 months it started whirring and making loud sounds so I used 3-In-1 Multi purpose 30 oz. light weight oil. It worked for a day or two and didn't make noise but then it stopped altogether the third day. The way I oiled it was just dropping 3 drops between the fan inside the opening where the motor is and maybe it must have gummed it so it wouldn't turn as easily anymore.. I looked online to see how to oil a sleeve type of fan and I followed the steps but there was nothing underneath the sticker or opening to the metal rod. (Hence why I just dropped a few in between the opening between the fan).

I know it is probably my fault and I'll be aware not to do that again but how should I have fixed this problem? I didn't think adding oil in between would mess it up that bad. Also the clearance between my fan and the RAM is nonexistent. I occupy all 4 RAM slots and the last RAM Slot pushes against the cpu fan slightly. Would this have any effect on the lifespan of my fan? Also what are alternate ways of replacing the fan now. I'm unsure what to buy or how this works. Since it's a 120mm fan all I have to do is buy any 120mm fan and install spare brackets that came with my cpu cooler and attach them on right? What fans would you recommend me buying? A Noctua fan or should I buy the same COOLERMASTER fan. Links wouls be appreciated preferably amazon or newegg.

Having your fan abut the ram module should not affect the fan operation. For replacement, most any 120mm fan should work. I believe you'll want PWM connection so the fan can be controlled by the motherboard. Are you concerned with noise, some fans are very loud, some are rather quiet. What's your budget for a fan, some run over $30, basically doubling the price of your air cooler.

gurzy

Distinguished