~1.5k build. EVGA 680, i5. Need help

mark anderson

Honorable
Mar 13, 2013
You guys seem very knowledgable about this kind of stuff, hope you guys can help me. Im building a pc from scratch, a complete noob. My previous pc was a laptop from 2008 that had a nvidia 8400gt. I've never had a great computer and this build will be 99% than my previous laptop so im super excited to be able and join the cool games like bf2, crises 3 and etc. I mostly played tf2 and mw2 because thats the most my laptop could handle (feel sorry for me)

I'm buying either a EVGA 680 stock 2gb, or a EVGA 680 superclocked signature edition 2gb. Dont know the difference but i do know that the superclocked version is better i guess. I'm also going to buy a 2nd one for sure, but im debating if ill use it for sli or to build a 2nd pc. (I social engineer, yes im a crook, but thats how im getting the 2nd one).

I want to get the intel i5 3570k, but if i'm going to sli, would i need the i7 3770k? To me it doesnt seem to make a big difference since its only .1 extra ghz and its a $100 difference.

I really need help picking out a mother board though, they all look the same to me, i just know i will most likely go sli in the future, but i also know i might use the second evga 680 for a 2nd build. I will most likely go with either 2x 4gb ram, or if needed 2x 8gb ram? 2x 4gb ram seems more than enough. I mainly game and thats it, no intense video editing or anything... Could you guys give me a brief overview of what mobo i could get?

Also for the power supply, how much watts would i need if im going to just use 1 gfx card, and how much watts would i need if i go sli?
If i plan on going sli, ill get the higher watt power supply, if i plan on building 2 seperate pc's ill just go with the lower one for the 2nd pc and a little higher one for my main build if i plan on upgrading something later.

extra: