Sign in with
Your question

Periodic Frame Rate Drops in Games

Last response: in Video Games
March 16, 2013 1:56:46 PM

I've been having problems with my frame rate dropping drastically in multiple games. It always drops to around 5 fps during the game. This has been happening for a month or so and it wasnt that bad until i started playing newer released games. Like diablo 3 and starcraft 2, older titles run without problems.

Starcraft 2 - In the single player around every 10 mins the frames drop to 5fps and after 20 seconds or so it goes back to 60+. Even when no units are on screen. I tried lowering the graphics far below the suggested ultra but the problem persists. And in the Multiplayer i will have short freezes (around 1 sec pauses) every 5 seconds. It even crashed multiple times in the past week for a graphics card DXL failure.

Diablo 3 - Pretty much same problem, every 10 mins the frames plummet to low levels and makes it unplayable. Changing the monitor resolution helped and the drops were not as frequent, but i don't want to change it any lower.

Medieval 2 total war - same problem, i only play offline and every half an hour it gets all choppy.

I also noticed Some games like World of Warcraft, Battlefield 2, Battlefield Bad company, Civilization 5, and Bio shock 2 all run perfectly fine without any problems.
My computer has been crashing at least once every 2 weeks for a video card failure. During games and just browsing the internet.
I monitored my cpu/ram usage during the drops and they both never went above the normal usage.

I TRIED:
Defragmenting hard drives
Updated graphics card drivers
ran virus scan, no viruses
ran Dxl diagnostics on graphics card, no problems
I checked firewall just in case if it was blocking a publisher's game, it wasn't
I cleaned out unneeded background processes while i was playing