What is trim? Extra SSD install steps.

dj_crossbones

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2011
I recently installed a corsair force gs 360gb ssd for my operating system, I read a thread here on how to install it and it was very helpful. I read on another site about some tweaks and I am wondering if I need them or is it overkill and not necessary they are as folllows:
Enable trim in command prompt; fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 0
Disable system restore to help save space
Disable indexing
Disable disc defragmentation
Diable Hibernation so there is no delay when going back to pc
Disable services for Windows search and superfetch
Disable Clearpagefileatshutdown and largesystemcache

Are these thing correct or is this something that would screw up my machine, as far as I understood it all I had to do was inable ACHI in my bios and then install my copy of windows which is what I have done. I am a noob to the ssd would and don't understand but a couple things that were mentioned above any help would be awesome.

dj_crossbones

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2011

I disabled the disc defrag and the trim is active but what about the rest of the stuff anyone have a walk threw and can explain to me if it's necessary to do so on the other things listed? And what is with the virtual memory I am totally green to this ssd stuff

dj_crossbones

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2011

ok if you don't mind I am going to ask a few questions here I have already installed my os and things like anti vius, video drivers ect, if I start playing around with this stuff will it mess up my system. also I thought I had trim verified that it was working because when I go to device manager and under IDI/ATA/ATAPI it says standard ACHI 1.0 in use so does that mean all is well, there was another thread here that mentioned nothing about doing all this extra stuff so will I be ok?