Bad PSU or MotherBoard?

metallica435435

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2011
hey guys, this is my first time posting so I'm going to try hard and do this post right. I recently build my own

system (first time) and I am having problems with my computer freezing and shutting off randomly. below are the

system specs:

i7 3770
ASRock B75 PRO 3
G.Skill NS Series 4GB DDR3 1600
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB
EVGA GeForce GT 650Ti
Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer
SeaSonic S12II 430B -430Watt Power Supply

I have done some testing but have had no luck trouble shooting the problem
I have re-formated my machine with win7 64 bit multiple times <--but I didnt have any luck
I have run memtest for hours and no results
I have tried using different DIMM ports for my RAM
I have removed the video card and used onboard graphics card (which actually made the freezing worse)
I have removed the SSD and used a known working normal spinning hard drive <--but I didnt have any luck with that either
I have removed the CD reader
I have used multiple outlets in my house and have tried removing the surge protector as well<--all these still continued the freezing and/or the random shutting off
I have updated the firmware on my SSD and BIOS for my motherboard
Ive tried different RAM sticks, which were know to work on other computers in my house
downloaded all the current drivers from all the manufactures websites
Monitored my CPU and GPU temperatures with nothing surprising (actually very low temperatures)

the freezing and shutting off is very random..
It happens alot when i do windows updates though (for reasons that are unknown to me)
never seen it do it while playing a game (and i have gamed on it for hours before)
it has happened within the first 5 minutes of being turned on, even after days of being off
it has done after waiting hours to turn off (12 plus hours)
which makes me think it is not thermal related