New build audio computer

Jack Mackenzie

Honorable
Mar 19, 2013
To upgrade from my current laptop-based setup, I am looking to build a computer for around £550-£700 (no peripherals) as my main music composition system, using mainly slightly outdated components!

I have never done this before, but I have replaced, upgraded and fixed components so am not a total beginner.

The requirements are:

• ■Texas Instruments firewire chipset (the only one that can handle audio properly across firewire connection)
    ■As quiet as possible
    ■Overclockable
    ■Reasonably fast disk streaming
    ■Multiple monitor support (in future, not right away)
    ■And obviously a decent upgrade from my current 32-bit, 4GB, i5 laptop.

I've done a fair bit of research and here's what I've come up with, including rough ebay prices:

• ■Case: CoolerMaster Silencio 550 £60
    ■Motherboard: Intel DP67BG, LGA 1155 (includes TI firewire chipset) £60 OR Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3-iSSD (not sure about TI firewire but allows use of 2600K onboard graphics and has 20GB SSD included) £100
    ■CPU: i7 2600K £190
    ■Cooler: Thermalright Macho 120 £30
    ■RAM: 16GB DDR3 1600 £100
    ■Graphics: Silent Radeon hd 6450 (very basic) or 7750 (good) £30/£120 OR nothing for the moment with the Gigabyte motherboard
    ■PSU: Something fanless like Seasonic x-460 £100
    ■HDD: A 7200 1TB main drive, possibly a separate SSD for the OS
    ■Bog-standard DVD burner drive: As cheap as I can find

Main questions:

• ■Can you spot anything here that wouldn't be compatible with the overall system?
    ■Does anyone have any specific recommendations on specific RAM, PSU and HDD models?
    ■I plan to overclock the system a little, while keeping it quiet. Will the quiet case, fanless GPU and PSU cause the system to get too hot?
    ■Of the specific models I've listed, is there something providing similar functionality for a lower price?