Need help deciding on deciding which external hard drive for storage space.

honeyinsfl

Honorable
Jan 24, 2013
With the help of this website I was able to chose the best laptop for my needs. I opted for the HP dv6t-Quad, i7, 8 GB, I upgraded to the better screen per your suggestions; beautiful by the way, and got the Hybrid 7200 rpms, since the other hard drive only came in 5400. Unfortunately, I had issues with computer crashing on the first update, overheating, a slow responsive mouse (or the thingamagic in the middle....LOL), and a letter on the keyboard that keeps popping up, so I am returning this computer and HP is giving me a new one and will throw an SSD 160 GB for $80.00 more as they are out of the hybrid 7200; which is a bargain since they charge $260 for it.
Now I need your help in chosing the best external hard drive for storage capacity. You can tell I am new to this customization, but I had not choice since I wanted to stick with Windows 7 and HP had them available.
I appreciate your input and suggestions.

honeyinsfl

Honorable
Jan 24, 2013
Thank you Redheat for your links. Do you have any opinions on the ones that HP sells? They have a 2TB for $135, I am sure I can get a coupon of some sort to bring the price down. I just want to make the right choice. I was not contemplating making this purchase, but with the SSD being only 160GB, I know I must.

popatim

Titan
The 160GB SSD is $80 more than the $260 Hybrid drive? Thats $340 for a 160gb ssd... thats insane.

IMO - Get the smallest cheapest normal HDD they have and upgrade it to a much larger SSD yourself.

or

Get a normal HDD in the size you need. Externals are for backups.

honeyinsfl

Honorable
Jan 24, 2013