Whats the proper way to use vsync? any alternatives?

k4ever

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2012
Im new to pc gaming, and I just started to understand how vsync works. I see a lot of tearing in some games when I have it off, thats why I decided to leave it on in almost every game I play. I just read that using vsync means to do a double buffering, and this has its pros and cons. I have a 60hz display so in some areas of some games I will get a respectful 60fps, but then in others I will get half of that (30fps). Its either high or low, and thats the way vsync works. I also read that triple buffering is better in the sense that the frames wont spike from top high to top low, and that the fps will be a constant average. This will come at a cost of frames and performance may get a hit. Some people totally avoid vsync because of this, and just deal with the tearing.
Suggestions I read point that I should use a gpu program to enable vsync manually (like catalyst manager?) instead of using the one in-game (if offered). If so whats the best third party software/program I may use to tweak vsync manually towards an hd radeon gpu (7870)?
Are there any kind of monitors/displays that help with the tearing issue? Maybe lower response time means lower tearing as well as ghosting?
I have heard about "adaptive vsync" as well, but I have no clue what that does. I will just google it later.

EDIT: Will getting a 120hz display make turning on vsync completely useless? (as long as the frame rate max doesnt exceed 120)

Cybertox

Honorable
Mar 19, 2013
The program you might looking for is D3DOverrider. It can enable triple buffering and a vertical sync option which doesnt affect performance as much as in-game vertical sync does.

k4ever

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2012