What is my wattage for my pc build?

Tri Nguyen

Honorable
Mar 20, 2013
I'm a noob to building computers and I want to know how many watts it would take to power the build I'm wanting to make. In my build I have 660ti sli, fx-8350 amd, antec kuhler h20 620, a 64gb sandisk ssd, 750 gb black wd scorpio hdd,a nzxt phantom 410 case and finally a asrock 990fx extreme3. Also if there is anything you want to say about my list if there something not right with my list or my build is bottle necking please tell me.

Greatatlantic

Honorable
Mar 17, 2013
Have at: http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

Beyond that,

-a high end build really should use a third generation Intel CPU, such as the i5 3570K or the i7 3770K. AMD just hasn't caught up (http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-cpu-review-overclock,3106-5.html).

-If you don't plan on overclocking, there is no reason to get a closed loop liquid cooler. If you do, then I'd recommend the Corsair H55 instead of the Antec Kuhler (similar price, more modern technology) or a more expensive model like the H100i or the H80i. Though if you are a beginner, closed loop liquid coolers are a much bigger pain to install than just using a stock cooler. That might be something you want to do as a later project once you get the initial build right.

-Any SLI configuration has a bad price/performance ratio. There are reasons to use an SLI configuration, but it is hardly double the power of just one card, though you pay twice as much. I'd say you would be better served getting an 7870 (LE), or some other more powerful single card solution.

-Also, MSI was caught in late 2012 changing the specifications on a video card to get better performance at the cost of stability: http://www.tomshardware.com/news/MSI-GTX-660-670-overvolting-PowerEdition,18013.html . I would be a bit leery at buying their cards right now.