Trying to find the cause of persistent memtest errors

DKawalec

Honorable
Mar 25, 2013
Hello everyone,
I've been using my PC for over 3 years now with no problems; recently however I had several BSODs in a row (I'm using Windows7 Pro 64-bit), so I started investigating.
My hardware is as follows:
Asus P5Q3 motherboard
Intel Core2Quad Q9400
Geil GG34GB1333C9DC, 2 sticks per 2GB, it is on Asus' QVL for this board.
Radeon HD4870 graphics card

I reinstalled some drivers, chkdsk was OK, so I run memtest overnight and in the morning there were over 9 thousand errors after 9 passes, so a thousand per pass approximately. I started testing each module individually in different slots, and each of them passes the tests with no errors, but as soon as I plug them both in (into proper slots in accordance with the MB manual) memtest errors are back, but now there's between 3 and 10 of them, during the 5th or 7th test, and always at the same addresses. Windows Memory Diagnostic passes with no errors, but memtest brings some up every time.
Having read that it might be a BIOS issue, I tried updating it, but it did not change a thing - also I had issues with the update. I went from version 0804 to 0806, it resulted with a blank screen on reboot, so I unplugged the PSU, pulled the battery from the MB, waited for about 2 minutes, then replugged everything and the computer booted normally, only now it reports 0806 version installed - so I guess the update was successful after all..?
All memory-related settings in BIOS are set to auto, I never overclocked it or changed anything, as I don't know much about those things anyway.

My question is - what could be causing this? Could the memory sticks be faulty, yet still pass the individual tests, or is the issue in the motherboard/CPU? What other diagnostics could I perform that would help find the culprit?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

swilczak

Distinguished