HELP: Building PC for gaming, FPGA design and Photo editing

niopo

Honorable
Mar 25, 2013
Hi,

my last System was a total fail (AMD 5200+ complete system from HP from ~2008) so I want to build my next System myself with your help.

What I want to do:
* I currently only have Sim City 2013 and Battlefield 3 (which I is unplayable at my current system, I got it for free cause of simcity fail)
* I want to slice 3D-prints (I am a RepRap Operator) that is actually no problem with my current system.
* I want to compile FPGA designs for an Spartan 6 XC6SLX150. My system fails after about 3 days working on it.
* I have an 5d Mark II and do RAW photography. I want to edit these pictures.

What I have selected so far:
I think I want an i7-3770k with two asus hd 7970 and 27 2560 x 1440 Monitor. I already have a Windows 8 Lizense so I want to stick with it. That and my two 300gb (I have a NAS for storage), Logitech G500, Cherry Keyboard, BeoLab 4 & BeoLab 2 Speakers and Ironclad are probably everything I ll keep from my current system.

My complete list is here.
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/M7RW

My Problems:
* Are the components well balanced? As far as I understand it I should get a little bit over 60 FPS in Battlefield 3 with ultra settings at full screen resolution. I still could upgrade to 32GB of ram if I get problems with photoshop or xilinx.
* The SSD should make my old drives fast enough?
* There should be one empty PCIe to add an Soundblaster later?
* The case Is too high for my desk. I need something more like 30cm instead of 60 cm. But it looks so cool and I havent found any 30cm height case jet. A wider case would not be a problem.
* Is the NEC PA271W-BK good for photo editing and gaming?
* I am thinking about waiting for haswell and change the relevant components (mainboard and cpu?) bevore I buy it. I also have to save up a little bit, so thats no problem. But I want to start the planing already.

Thanks a lot.

niopo

Honorable
Mar 25, 2013