Sign in with
Your question

First Time Build (Very new to this...)

Last response: in Systems
March 31, 2013 10:43:57 PM

So I am very new to this whole "building-my-own-pc" thing. After looking at new computers, adding things up, I figure that I can get nearly twice the pc for the money if I build it myself. I've read a ton, looked at almost every online electronics store website, and now I "think" I'm ready to start. But I really want to make sure I'm doing this right before I commit... Here's what I've come up with:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/ND8W

Two things I am just not sure about... The motherboard and the video card.

Please give me your advice on things you may change, options, how everything looks, etc. Even cheaper alternatives that are just as good. I will be visiting a Micro Center tomorrow. I look forward to reading what you all have to say!

Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor - $229.99
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard - $114.99
Patriot Viper 3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory - $47.98
Patriot Viper 3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory - $47.98
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive - $77.35
OCZ Vertex 4 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk $112.50
MSI Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition 2GB Video Card - $229.99
TP-Link TL-WDN4800 802.11a/b/g/n PCI-Express x1 Wi-Fi Adapter - $39.99
Rosewill CHALLENGER ATX Mid Tower Case $49.99
Corsair Builder 500W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V Power Supply - $29.99
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer - $64.98

More about : time build

a b V Motherboard
a b U Graphics card
April 1, 2013 1:20:09 AM

Purpose? Overclocking?
Related resources
April 1, 2013 1:21:35 AM

This build for multiple things. Gaming, video editing/graphic design work, etc. Would you still recommend the i5? And thanks for the recommendation on the psu.
April 1, 2013 1:23:36 AM

realchaos said:
Purpose? Overclocking?