Building a new Computer, solid advise needed.

michel1980

Honorable
Feb 12, 2013
Hi all

Recently i upgraded my daughters old computer, to play games with.
It's a old Athlon 64 dual core, with by now 8gig of ram, and a 2 gig GT640 Evga videocard. With a stock (yah HP i hate it) Nettle2 motherboard. I was pleasantly surprised, it even runs crysis 2 pretty smooth in HIGH DETAIL!

Obvious enough times changed!, so i went shopping and made a wishlist. Still i am NOT a techie, or computer guru that spends tons of times catching up on it all.

But i so far shot over the budget in mind of 700usd, total cost are about 940usd.
I was wondering, is this a pretty decent setup? To play most games with satisfaction?

Here are the components.

Memory modules: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1866 MHZ (PC3 15000) Desktop Memory (CMZ16GX3M2A1866C10R)

(I am not sure but seemed logical, to get 1866 mhz instead of 1600 or so, small price difference)

Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

(I have NO desire to overclock at all, if it's on this board i would not even use it. So i saved a little bit of money on this part)

CPU:AMD FX 6100 6-Core Processor, 3.3 6 Socket AM3+ - FD6100WMGUSBX

(as the 8 core got to much negative talks about it, while the 6 seems really well received)

Casing: Thermaltake V3 Black AMD Edition Gaming Chassis Mid Tower Steel Computer Case VL800P1W2N

(Seems to be a pretty cool looking casing, and not to flashy, and cheap! Also has room for a radiator as i like silence)

Power supply:1000W 140mm Fan ATX Power Supply 12V 2.3 EPS12V 2.92 Quad SLI-ready PCI-Express SATA 20/24 PIN Intel AMD by KENTEK

(Got good reviews, and seemed bang for the buck. I know this might be overkill but i do not mind that. Who knows if i ever upgrade)

Main OS drive:SanDisk 64 GB Solid State Drive with Low Power Consumption SDSSDP-064G-G25​