omerkljako

Honorable
Apr 3, 2013
Here is my specs:
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.4 ghz
2 Visiontek 7850 2 gb (crossfire)
8 gb ddr3
700W power sup

When i play battlefield 3 on ultra sometimes the fps will go under 30, which should not happen with 2 7850's. Here is my question is my CPU bottle necking? and if not what could be the problem.

some other info when im in small places or small maps i will have 60 fps.

Most likely to the point that the other card is not even under load lol, if u ran with a single card, ud prob get better fps. Cheap fix, get a cpu cooler if u dont and oc if u can

Do u know what pci-e lanes the cards are in? i believe anything under the x8 lane severely hurts fps

omerkljako

Honorable
Apr 3, 2013
ya i have a cooler master 212, and i do notice that if i dont have crossfire on its almost the same fps. but il try oc

its not the ghz speed its the cpu, u could throw a 3.4ghz i5 in there and would prob run smoothly in crossfire. overclocking just helps as it speeds up the cpu and allows it to perform better than the stock clock. in bf3 running a 5850 with my stock clocked x6 lags on ultra going to 3.4ghz smooths out gameplay and 3.7ghz increases my fps quite a bit

omerkljako

Honorable
Apr 3, 2013
so what is limiting my fps the 2 7850s or the amd phenom II x4 965? ok and now when i play metro 2033 there is literally no difference in fps between crossfire and no crossfire, also my fps is below 30... im really confused

8350rocks

Distinguished
Your Phenom is a good chip, however...

It is not enough to push a crossfire'd HD 7850 setup. If you want to stick with AMD go to something like a FX8320/8350...if you're going to OC anyway, get the 8320, if you're not going to OC you should get the 8350.

Either one will push your cards just fine.