Is my PC bottlenecked??

Mrnix

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2013
I just started playing Borderlands 2 and experienced extreme lag whilst playing and when I starting googling fps drop solutions they typically said that the cpu was bottlenecking the system. It's not just BL2 either, it's games like Skyrim too. I found that in the video settings on skyrim that it was using nvidia gt 530 which was my very 1st card and I've had 2 since then? http://gyazo.com/0d3e8dfe17aebcfa7032af18f4c0aa5d << screencap of skyrim options using old card
I figured that maybe some of my games are using some of my old graphics card drivers and clashing with my current ones :/ I'll mention that the lag is basically the same in Skyrim as in Borderlands 2 as in I can stand still and things will run smooth but when I turn the game drops from 60 to like 5 fps, the game freezes for 1-2 seconds at a time which just seems like I can't handle it even though My rig is decent and can play, say battlefield 3 in ultra 60 fps no issues. I also tested the CPU usage whilst playing and shotting/ using explosives and it never really raised 50% So it doesn't look like it's my CPU.
My specs are as follows;

CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3.4 GHz
RAM: 8 gb ramm
GPU: Asus GTX 660 ti DCU Top, which can be clocked faster than a 670
Motherboard: Dell XPS 8300 motherboard idk..
Case: Aerocool xPredator x1 w/ a 5 fans including corsair

The system could maybe still be using old drivers from my old gt 530 card which shouldn't be happening as I recently used a driver sweeping software in prep for my 660 ti. My graphics card drivers are brand new and up to date but games still detect the old one. Also Skyrim never even saw my GT 530 as I had a 560 ti when I bought Skyrim, which definitely means that there are traces of GT 530 on my pc. Could I have sweeped the old drivers wrong, does anybody recommend any really good devices to eliminate ALL drivers so I can try again and then install new drivers?